Comedy Vocabulary

I think it’s fascinating when entertainers talk about their earliest comedy memories. The cast of “Parks and Rec” seemingly can’t stop talking about how much “Cheers” influenced them; Lena Dunham just told Tina Fey and Amy Poehler at the Golden Globes how they got her through middle school; and Aziz Ansari mentioned that the biggest moment of his comedy career was feeling like a peer to Chris Rock. Heck, half of Judd Apatow’s recent Vanity Fair comedy issue was dedicated to his love of Steve Martin. In some ways, it’s incredible to delineate the comedy progeny: Richard Pryor influenced Chris Rock, who influenced Aziz Ansari, and so on.

I wanted to write a post tonight that I could dedicate to my brother, who helped me through a difficult week. He exposed me to all of my earliest comedy memories, from the epic “Taste the Soup” joke at the end of “Coming to America,” to the best cameo of Charlie Sheen’s career.

The video at the top, of John Candy, is the first memory I have of laughing so hard that I had trouble breathing. What are everyone else’s earliest comedy memories?

One thought on “Comedy Vocabulary

  1. Pingback: Is Bono an Indy fan? | The PSA

Leave a Reply

