What I’m Hoping for from Fallon’s New Show

the_tonight_show_jimmy_fallon_s

Earlier today I listed my hopes for 2014, but missed a big one: what I want from the new Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. Yes, yes, I’m sure there will be plenty of sketches with Justin Timberlake, and yes, I DEFINITELY need more Higgns,

HIGGINS

HIGGINS

tumblr_mr865gXlnI1roeexbo2_250

but for my money, it’s interviews like these that give me hope:

Look at the blend of accents, impressions and impersonations, and how generally relaxed he is with Queen Latifah. Literally just the way they say Ryan Lochte makes me want to say “Jeah!”

Forget all the bells and whistles and recurring sketches: if he can become a great night-to-night interviewer, the way he is with Queen Latifah above, then I think his show will be must-see TV.

Leave a Reply

