Quick and Dirty Emmy Predictions

Unknown-1

I don’t care much for the Emmy’s, especially because the lion’s share of what I watch rarely gets nominated (and because it’s hard to root for an academy that failed to recognize Steve Carrell as Michael Scott, Jon Hamm as Don Draper or Jason Alexander as George Costanza). But I’ll certainly be watching (and live tweeting! @jacobsjj), and here are my quick picks. Unlike with my Oscar picks, I’m not going to do a “who will win, who should win, who I hope to win” type of break-down. I’m going to give you who I would vote for, period. Please not that these predictions aren’t likely to come to fruition, and are made based on my subjective, irrational like or dislike of the various nominees.

true-detective-harrelson-mcconaughey-610x348

Best Drama: True Detective.

Why? Because of the McConnaissance. And because it was the most engrossing eight hours of television I’ve seen all year. While I was disappointed in the finale’s denoument (and lack of some crazy, world-altering theories of mine being proven correct), the show on the whole was the best thing on TV. Shouldn’t that merit an award?

Best Comedy: Silicon Valley

I wouldn’t say the show made me laugh the hardest (that would be SV’s fellow nominee, Veep), but Silicon Valley had all the trappings of a classic comedy: underdogs raging against the machine, replete with eccentric personalities and a feeling that, if nothing else, you wouldn’t mind hanging out with these people on a regular basis. Much as I’m amused by Sheldon Cooper, I don’t think I could stand more than five minutes in his presence. And, as always, I’ll be rooting against Modern Family. It wasn’t great to begin with, and has now continued to win award after award despite its slide into mediocrity. Also, this was the funniest clip of the year (VERY NSFW):

And a great moment from Veep, who I think will actually win:

Best Actor, Drama: McConaughey

I mean, Rust Cohle is an all-time classic. And this is the only year that this character has the chance to be recognized. Much as I wish Jon Hamm would get his win, I think Don Draper’s time will be next year. And Cranston’s already been duly rewarded.

Best Actor, Comedy: Don Cheadle

Because I love “House of Lies,” and because I’m hoping he gets to thank Ben Schwartz (aka Jean-Ralphio) and Kristen Bell in an adorable speech. Also, because I really think Ricky Gervais’s character on “Derek” is offensive, and William H. Macy’s character on “Shameless” is more dramatic than comedic, and because I’m tired of seeing Jim Parsons win every year.

Best Actress, Drama: Lizzy Caplan

Because “Masters of Sex” is awesome, and because Lizzy Caplan has been amazing since “Mean Girls.” Also, Robin Wright annoys me on “House of Cards”, and though I know everyone loves Kerry Washington (and she was great hosting SNL), I haven’t seen a minute of “Scandal.”

Best Actress, Comedy: Julia Louis-Dreyfus…or Amy Poehler…but dear God not Lena Dunham

Because “Veep” and “Parks and Rec” are two of my favorite shows, and because both actresses are fantastic, integral parts of those shows. Because JLD and AP make me crack up more than any two comediennes in the universe. And because I’d love Amy to win because at least “Parks” would get some recognition that it sorely deserves. And because I hate “Girls” so, so much. So much.

Best Way to Make me Cry Tonight: The Robin Williams Tribute

Don’t screw it up, Billy.

One thought on “Quick and Dirty Emmy Predictions

  1. Oh wow you ‘don’t care much’ for them but still fit to be part of canceling trivia, huh? From: The PSASent: Monday, August 25, 2014 7:46 PMTo: alana.kulig@gmail.comReply To: The PSASubject: [New post] Quick and Dirty Emmy Predictions

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    jacobsjj1982 posted: ”

    I don’t care much for the Emmy’s, especially because the lion’s share of what I watch rarely gets nominated (and because it’s hard to root for an academy that failed to recognize Steve Carrell as Michael Scott, Jon Hamm as Don Draper or Jason Alexande”

Leave a Reply

