Hey Listen! A Zelda TV Show that will HyRule!

Hey, Listen!

Hey, Listen!

There are few things in life that I’ve enjoyed as much over the past thirty-two years as The Legend of Zelda. The original Nintendo incarnation, its SNES successor, and the magical N64-based Ocarina of Time all became instant classics in my house. I grew up on the games, and even the cheesy cartoon show:

I love the mythology: the Gorons, the Zoras, the Triforce itself (balancing courage, wisdom, and power). There was a solid week in college where I played Zelda and did basically nothing else. (Don’t worry, Mom and Dad, I had already handed in my thesis and taken my finals.) If Zelda’s not my favorite entertainment property of all-time, it’s pretty close. Everyone loved Mario and Bowser; the cool kids loved Link and Ganon.

My dream NES

My dream NES

For years, I’ve advocated for an 8-episode TV series. A movie wouldn’t be able to fully capture the totality of the story (Link’s humble beginnings, discovering he is the hero of time, learning the history of the master sword, fighting in various dungeons, and, of course, ultimately rescuing Princess Zelda from the clutches of Ganon(dorf)). But a TV show, done right, could explore the Link and Zelda relationship, introduce Navi, explore various lands and dungeons and weapons, and have a satisfying conclusion. Today, my dream is one step closer to becoming a reality.

Vulture (amongst other outlets) is reporting that Netflix is in the process of developing a live-action series based on the video games. And that news makes me feel like this:

06-legend-of-zelda_w529_h529_2x

(That’s meant to display happiness and bravery in the face of potential Hollywood adversity.)

I am so beyond excited for the possibility of this series. It will be riveting. It will contain one of my favorite story lines of all time. Because, as all Zelda fans know, that’s the beauty of the series: each game was essentially the same story (Link is a Hylian/the hero of time who has to rescue Princess Zelda while speaking to annoying townspeople, solving puzzles, obtaining objects like fire arrows and metal boots, and ultimately who can restore balance to the Triforce).

I’m also hoping that they are licensing the music from the game, because these songs are iconic (and by “iconic” I mean I listen to them religiously).

I’m also enthusiastic because Netflix is behind the show. They’ve displayed quality programming with “House of Cards” and “Orange is the New Black,” and hopefully the new Marvel series (Daredevil!) will keep up that pace.

The worst case scenario? We wind up with a glorious, hot mess that looks something like this, and I’ll still love every second of it:

Most importantly, though, I’m excited for more Zelda. Zelda, to me, means reminiscing about times spent with my cousin Adam (original/SNES versions), my friends Micah and John (N64), my college friends (Windwaker on the Gamecube) and law school friends (Twilight Princess, and no I don’t mean Kristen Stewart). Zelda’s been a constant – provided me with courage, wisdom and power. Here’s to counting down the days.

2 thoughts on “Hey Listen! A Zelda TV Show that will HyRule!

  1. Loved it! You write so well I want to see the show and I don’t even have Netflix. Hope it comes true and is as good as you want it to be.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

