Here it is, my moment of Zen (aka so long, Jon Stewart)

19-daily-show-correspondents-2_w529_h352_2x

In honor of Jon Stewart’s last “Daily Show” episode tonight, I just wanted to write a quick piece. Jon was an amazing host, and the inspiration for my college thesis, about whether entertainment, infotainment and celebrity could help inform (and potentially sway) voters. While Stewart was a gifted host, the show seemed to hinge on its incredible cast of correspondents. I wrote on my cousin’s facebook page earlier today that these were my favorite correspondents, though I am sure I have forgotten one or two others. So thank you, Jon Stewart, for helping young voters learn about important issues facing the country, and for doing so in both a humorous and topical way. But mostly, thank you for bringing notoriety to the following comedians:

Stephen Colbert. Steve Carrell. Ed Helms. Vance DeGeneres (hugely underrated, in my opinion). Samantha Bee. Jason Jones. Rob Corrdry. Aasif Mandvi. Jessica Williams. Rob Riggle. Mo Rocca. John Hodgman. Lewis Black. Larry Wilmore. Demetri Martin. Olivia Munn. Wyatt Cenac. Kristen Schaal. Josh Gad.

Now, tell me who I overlooked in the comments, or feel free to share your favorite “Daily Show” memory. For me, it will be difficult to top when they made Governor Bush debate President Bush, through the magic of video tape:

Leave a Reply

